Corkscrew operated at Alton Towers from 1980 to 2008.  After it was torn down, its two inversions were saved and relocated to the main entrance of the park.

Presently, Alton Towers is subdivided into ten areas: Adventure Land, CBeebies Land, Cloud Cuckoo Land, Dark Forest, Forbidden Valley, Gloomy Wood, Katanga Canyon, Mutiny Bay, Towers Street, and X-Sector.  When it opened, the area where Corkscrew was located was known as Talbot Center.  It later changed names and was called Festival Park for over a decade.  Later, that section of the park was called UG Land for nearly a decade before Corkscrew's removal.  The section, which is now dominated by the Thirteen and Rita roller coasters, is presently called Dark Forest.

Corkscrew Loops of the old Corkscrew roller caoster at Alton Towers Home Alton Towers Index        Previous Alton Towers Picture Next Alton Towers Picture

©2019 Joel A. Rogers.