West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
The land by the Monongahela Rover where Kennywood sits was purchased in 1818 by Charles K. Kenny. In 1898, the Monongahela Street Railway Company purchased the land and built a trolley park there. F. W. Henninger and Andrew McSwigan purchased the park in 1906 and formed Kennywood Entertainment. In 2008, Parques Reunidos, based in Madrid Spain, acquired Kennywood Entertainment.
Many of the rides and buildings have been designated Historic Landmarks. Some unique old rides at the park include Noah's Ark, a Whip ride, a Tumblebug ride from the 1920s, and an amazing auto ride built in 1930 by Harry Traver. In 1995, the seven-acre Lost Kennywood section of the park opened which is a recreation of a park from the early 1900s. Like many parks of that era, electric lights as well as a Shoot-The-Chutes water ride are predominately featured. Today Kennywood successfully mixes the wonderful historic features and nostalgic rides of the past with the thrills of the present!
Kennywood was home to at least eleven roller coasters that have been removed. Among the most famous ones are:
Thunderbolt (formerly Pippin)
©2013 JAR Productions. All rights reserved.